No DUI Colorado
Criminal Penalties and Fines

The County Court system issues criminal penalties for alcohol or drug-related arrests when there are no other felony charges involved. Criminal penalties include imprisonment, fines, and required public service. The following penalties vary and will be determined by the court.

CRIMINAL PENALTIES
Offense Jail Fines Public Service
1st DWAI 2 days – 180 days $200 – $500 24 hours – 48 hours
1st DUI 5 days – 1 year $600 – $1000 48 hours – 96 hours
DWAI or DUI with one previous DWAI or DUI 10 days – 1 year $600 – $1500 48 hours – 120 hours
DWAI or DUI with two or more previous DWAI or DUI 60 days – 1 year $60 – $1500 48 hours – 120 hours

The court must impose the minimum jail sentence for any offender with a .20+ BAC or one or more prior offenses. In addition, a sentence to probation is:

  • Discretionary for 1st time offenders.
  • Mandatory for 2nd and subsequent offenders. Sentence must be at least 2 years AND include a suspended sentence of 1 year county jail.

In addition to the fines listed above, you may also have to pay penalty surcharges of up to $500 to help pay for programs to address persistent drunk drivers, and another $200 for alcohol treatment evaluation, as well as surcharges to benefit crime victims.

Surcharges for a 1st DUI:

DUI Fine $600 – $1,000
Victim Assistance Fund $78 (or up to 37% of fine, whichever is higher)
Victim Compensation Fund $33
Alcohol Treatment Evaluation $200
Law Enforcement Assistance Fund $90
Brain Injury Fund $20
Persistent Drunk Driving Surcharge $100 – $500
Court Costs $21
Court Security Fund $5
Genetic Testing Surcharge $2.50
Useful Public Service Up to $120
Rural Alcohol and Substance Abuse Surcharge $1 – $10
Probation Supervision Fees $50.00 per month

Once it’s time to reinstate your driver’s license after suspension or revocation, other fees and charges may apply.

Quick Links

No DUI Colorado